Undergrad maths for theoretical physics - QIT

In summary, the conversation is about a second year maths and physics student from Australia who is interested in completing a PhD in theoretical physics. They discuss the courses they have taken and the potential areas of research they are interested in. There is also a mention of the competitive nature of applying for a PhD in theoretical physics and the courses that may be necessary for different areas of research. The speaker also shares their own path to a PhD in theoretical physics.
IahWay
Hi all I am a second year maths and physics student from Australia.

I am hoping to complete a PhD in an interesting area of theoretical physics. At the moment I am interested in particles and quantum information theory. Though it is worth keeping in mind that I am only in second year.

I know a few grad students who managed to get into PhD spots with only second year classes in linear algebra, vector calc (I think calc 3 for the US) and a PDE class.

Maybe I am putting too much pressure on the content of an undergrad degree but my math sequence looks like this (from second year onwards honours stream maths - has a focus on rigour)

First year:
Diff Calc (mix of calc 1 and 2)
Linear algebra
Integral calc
Stats

Second year:
Real and complex analysis
Vect calc and linear alg
Stats and prob
into to PDE
Abstract algebra

Third year
Lagrangian and Hamiltonian dynamics
Mathematical computing
partial diff eq and waves
non linear ODE's

Missing but can't fit 3rd year:
Differential geometry
Metric spaces ie HilbertIt seems like I am doing more maths than physics just to do physics.
Am I doing it right? Is it normal to fit all of this into an undergrad or are these grad topics for a physics PhD candidate? (read: not a maths PhD candidate)
Perhaps I would be better with some comp sci too?

Appreciate any help and time you have to offer.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org