Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

A Using Fastjet in Pythia to plot distribution of particles

1. Feb 28, 2017 #1
    I am using fastjet in pythia8.I am studying jet formation in pp collisions.I need to plot distribution of transverse momentum of fastest particle in fastest jet formed in 1000 events simulated.But i dont know how to access particle properties after jet formation.Like if I want to know the fastest particle out of the particles which have formed that jet ,I am not able to access it.Can anybdy explain ?
    Thanks

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 1, 2017 #2

mfb

2016 Award

Staff: Mentor

The fastest particle? That is an unusual quantity.

The quickstart has an example how to access the jet constituents.

4. Mar 1, 2017 #3

ChrisVer

Gold Member

by fastest you mean the one with the highest pt? (would make more sense at least from my experience)

5. Mar 2, 2017 #4
    yes ,here fastest means with highest pt

6. Mar 2, 2017 #5
    It worked
    Thanks

7. Mar 15, 2017 #6
    How can we access lowest pt particle(constituent) of sub leading jet ?

8. Mar 15, 2017 #7

Vanadium 50

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

Does Section 3.5 of the manual not cover that?

9. Mar 15, 2017 #8

mfb

2016 Award

The functions shown in the quickstart example are sufficient for this as well.

10. Mar 15, 2017 #9
    yes,It worked now.Actually in some of the events,only less than 2 jets were formed.so It gave an error.Now I have imposed the condition to select only those events that have more than 1 jet.Now the question is -is that possible that in some events no jet formed even after clustering in pythia using fastjet?
    Thanks .Your guidance is helping me a lot :)

11. Mar 16, 2017 #10

mfb

2016 Award