1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Value of a first class

1. Sep 16, 2010 #1
    At the moment, I'm studying Physics.
    Let's say that in my first year I have scored 89%.
    How many students on average would get that score?
    Does that result mean that I am on track for receiving offers of admission at MIT, Princeton...for graduate studies, given I keep getting such results in my later years?
    How likely is it anyway that a student keeps getting such a score in his second and third year?

And would such a result, by itself, (w/o any extra-curricular activities) be sufficient to secure internships or work placements at big companies?

Last edited by a moderator: Feb 11, 2011
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 16, 2010 #2
    5^334

No.. but maybe yes.

50%

See answer for the second question.

Seriously though, what kind of questions are these? We can't tell you the future. I'm pretty your school would have statistics on the grades for students in your program. The career center should have stats on the job placement as well, maybe even specific companies if you read a newsletter of Alumni. For the grad school question, I always recommend http://www.physicsgre.com/viewforum.php?f=3

That site should give you an idea of what is needed to get into those schools. It's actual evidence of people who made it into those top schools. Good luck.

4. Sep 16, 2010 #3
    ^
    nicely done.

5. Sep 17, 2010 #4