Value of programming and cs to an aspiring physicist

In summary,the conversation discusses the value and importance of programming skills for a working physicist, as well as the potential benefits for applying to graduate school or research opportunities. The speakers share their personal opinions on various programming languages and offer advice on how to approach learning programming. Overall, it is recommended to at least have a basic understanding of programming principles and to choose a language that is relevant to the field of physics.
svs3
Hi All,

First post but have lurked for a couple of months. I am an undergrad majoring in physics. My question is this: I have a few holes in my schedule to fill and am considering taking a few programming courses and I am wondering a) of how much value is the ability to program (or at least understand the principles of programming and cs and/or the ability to read code) to a working physicist and b) is the ability to program a bonus when applying to grad school or looking for research opportunities?

Thanks for your input and insight,
svs3

Physics news on Phys.org
I was shot down for a couple of undergrad research positions by professors because I didn't have any programming experience. It just depends what they need you to do.

Your going to have to learn to program sooner or later so you mine as well do it now. But don't take classes for it though, they will only slow you down and waste your money. The fundamentals of programming isn't difficult to understand and most popular languages are very well supported. I suggest starting with MS Visual Studio Express: http://www.microsoft.com/express/product/default.aspx

Last edited by a moderator:
I suspect you already know the answer depends on what area of physics you go into.