Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Vectors/Tensors-spherical coordinates. z component of force of fluid on a sphere

1. Jul 15, 2012 #1
    i am a chemical engineer but this is fluid mechanics stuff so i figured you physics geniuses would know this stuff

so to find the z component of force exerted by fluid on the surface of the sphere they find the normal force acting on a surface element of the sphere, integrated over the entire surface of the sphere. then dot it with unit vector in z direction. i am STUMPED as to how they found all the dot product in this integral. This is spherical coordinates

http://img716.imageshack.us/img716/6281/forcer.png [Broken]

here's the final result...
    http://img685.imageshack.us/img685/5597/answern.png [Broken]

please let me know if you need any additional information

Last edited by a moderator: May 6, 2017
  2. jcsd
  3. Jul 15, 2012 #2

tiny-tim

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

hi racnna! :smile:

(δ and τ are tensors (matrices))

(i don't really approve of the "dot" between the tensor and the vector :redface:)

δ.δr = δr

δr.δz = rcosθ

etc :wink:

Last edited: Jul 15, 2012
  4. Jul 15, 2012 #3
    hey tim you mind walking me through it with a little more detail. i have been performing these dot products for hours hours and still cant arrive at the final integral.

in spherical coordinates...

τ =
    rr τ 0 ]
    θr 0 0 ]
    [0 0 0 ]

pδ =
    [p 0 0]
    [0 p 0]
    [0 0 p]

so pδ+τ=
    [p+τrr τ 0]
    θr p 0]
    [0 0 p]

are those steps correct?

5. Jul 15, 2012 #4
    ooh nevermind...i think i got it now

6. Jul 15, 2012 #5
    This is a response from a fellow chemical engineer. You seem to be using Bird, Stewart, and Lightfoot as your textbook. BSL has an appendix that teaches how to work with second order tensors, like the stress tensor. Here is a brief summary, customized to your problem: