Wanted to designed a 5k Watt Wind Turbine

In summary, the speaker is new to a physics forum and seeking help designing a Vertical Axis wind turbine to power their home 24 hours a day. They have questions about connecting their appliances, the need for a battery, and the availability of a gearbox with variable input and constant output. Another member advises them to be realistic about their expectations and consider purchasing a turbine instead of designing one. They also warn against poorly sized turbines that may not produce any power.
shahrukhzafar
Hi everyone!
I am new in physics forum and this is my first post.
I need help from the people out there.

I wanted to deisgn a Vertical Axis wind turbine to produce 5k Watt output with a frequecy of

50Hz, 220VAC, to completely run my home appliance 24 hours. Appliances include:
-1.5ton AC
-Refrigerator
-Iron
-T.V
-Computer
-Laptop
-4 ceiling fans
-14 energy saver
-2 bulb of 100watt

What things I needed?
I also have some questions regarding this project in my mind.
-Can I directly connect my appliance with alternator, because alternator generate AC output?
-Is battery needed for this project?
-Is there any gearbox available with variable input and constant output?
Hoping a favourable reply soon...

Engineering news on Phys.org
Averagesupernova thanks for reply, but nothing interested I found on that website.

Last edited:
shahrukhzafar said:
Hi everyone!
I am new in physics forum and this is my first post.
I need help from the people out there.

I wanted to deisgn a Vertical Axis wind turbine to produce 5k Watt output with a frequecy of

50Hz, 220VAC, to completely run my home appliance 24 hours.

Highly ambitious. What happens when it's not blowing then? Before you start looking into this, be realisitic. You aren't going to get 5kV all the time and you certainly aren't going to get 24hours worth.

I'm all for doing stuff yourself rather than paying someone, but if you are serious about this,