Ways to get into hobby electronics

In summary, the student would like to find ways to supplement their electrical engineering studies by learning electronics. He or she is interested in micro controllers, Raspberry Pi, and ham radio.
axmls
I'm a first-year electrical engineering student, and I'm really enjoying what I'm doing, but I'd like to find ways to get into electronics in my spare time as sort of a supplementary learning method.

I suppose micro controllers would be a good place to start, though I don't know much about them. Are there any good hobby electronics products that I can get (preferably cheaply) that would be good for a college student studying electrical engineering? Something that would be easy to buy would be a plus. I've already looked into the Arduino starter kit, but I'm wondering if there are any other options.

Computer science news on Phys.org
Here are a couple of suggestions:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00008W73Z/?tag=pfamazon01-20

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B002TOILRO/?tag=pfamazon01-20

They may be too basic or too kitschy for you, but they may lead to something more suitable for what you had in mind.

It's too bad they don't make Heathkits anymore. I built one of their microprocessor kits in college over 30 years ago (Motorola 6800 CPU). You got a good exercise in basic electronic skills like soldering and identifying various electronic components. Heathkit had a variety of different projects you could build, including radios and some early home computers. They had one kit which would allow you to build a 16-bit computer based on Digital Equipment Corp. CPUs.

Last edited by a moderator: