Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Web Scraping: HTML to Text (Streaming). Suggestions?

1. Jun 26, 2017 #1

WWGD

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Hi All,
    I am trying to figure out how to scrape ( if necessary; use API otherwise ) , html to text , maybe with an intermediate step using Excel and .csvs, EDIT Preferably using Python. I have some idea on how to go about it, but I am no expert. I would appreciate input in general.
    Thanks.

Last edited: Jun 26, 2017
  2. jcsd
  3. Jun 26, 2017 #2

Borg

Gold Member

Try a java program called JSoup.

4. Jun 26, 2017 #3

WWGD

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Thanks Borg, is that the same as Python's Beautiful soup? I am familiar with Python, not too much with Java.

5. Jun 26, 2017 #4

Borg

Gold Member

And I'm not versed in Python. Been on my todo list way too long...

6. Jun 26, 2017 #5

WWGD

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Feel free to ask a question, tho I am no expert; that way we can level the answers from ## \infty \rightarrow 0## to ## \infty \rightarrow 1 ## , your answers ( to my questions) to my answers ( to your questions) ;).

7. Jun 26, 2017 #6

stevendaryl

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

I have done that using Beautiful Soup. It works pretty well, but you often have to tweak it by trial and error to get what you want.

8. Jun 27, 2017 #7

Borg

Gold Member

Beautiful Soup and JSoup are both on a list of HTML parsers on a Wiki comparison page.

9. Jul 13, 2017 #8

WWGD

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Hi,
    Another point: I have been hearing about both Copyright and general issues re scraping; specifically some forms of scraping are seen as hostile to the owner of the site, while some data held in the page is deemed private. Anyone know more on this?.

10. Jul 13, 2017 #9

jack action

Science Advisor
    Gold Member