1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Well-valued Universities in the States

1. Dec 25, 2008 #1
    I am looking for resources about the values of undergraduate degrees in States. I mean by value the high quality of teaching and low tuition fees. I have found this site: http://www.ncf.edu/news/?p=868, but I am unsure whether they apply to foreign students. Collegeboard.com shows that "Out-of-state tuition and fees" tend to be about 3 times higher than "In-state tuition and fees", at least in the case of "University of Virginia". I suppose that "Out-of-state tuition and fees" apply to foreigners. I am an IB student, interested in Mathematics, Engineering and Natural sciences. Are there some lists about the "values" for foreigners?
  2. jcsd
  3. Dec 25, 2008 #2
    As a foreign student, unless you have some kind of aid from your home country or receive an some kind of international scholarship aid, you are pretty much considered out of state, which is much more expensive than instate. This will pretty much be the norm at almost all state universities. I don't see how they would consider you an instate student.

I have heard of graduate students being supported by their home country's government or something like that. Is this possible in your situation? You didn't say where you were from. I'm sure others can give you some suggestions.
  4. Dec 25, 2008 #3
    I have the Finnish (EU) passport. I am white. Dunno whether this last fact matters?! Perhaps for some scholarships?!
  5. Dec 25, 2008 #4
    My suggestion would be that, unless your parents are very rich, forget about coming to the US as an undergrad. Come as a graduate student... the opportunities for support are *much* greater.
  6. Dec 25, 2008 #5