1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What are good (cheap) physics books for noobs?

1. Sep 16, 2015 #1
    I'm extremely interested in physics at the moment and I'm kind of giving physics a beta test to see if I'd like it as a career... and so far I love it; I have rented a physics book from my library and I'm able to do only a few equations but it can be difficult to understand what the text is saying (I have no physics teacher or tutor at the moment). I'm in my first semester at a JC and the highest math I've taken was stats in HS. So here's my question: what are decent websites, references, and or books that I can purchase for cheap that will help me understand some basic physics? And I'm aware that calculus is needed to do physics, so I'm also going to ask are there any good books that can teach me pre-calc and calc? I'm trying to teach myself at the moment until I can get into a higher level math course.

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 17, 2015 #2

DEvens

Education Advisor
    Gold Member

See if you can get yourself library privileges at your local college or university. Many universities will give you a year's membership for some reasonable fee like $50 or something.

Schaum's Outline. They have many different books on many different topics. All are in the range $20. Most of them are in the "solved problem" style. Amazon has about 3900 entries for Schaum's. So you should be able to find something that will be useful. Treat them as assistance "up the learning curve." Most of them should not be treated as text books as such, since that is not what they are intended for. They are study aids. A few of them are "handbook" type books, and may well be on your desk for much of your life in STEM.