Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What are solitons and how do they affect us?

1. Oct 21, 2004 #1

Mk

What are solitons and how do they affect us?

I found out in 1973, Akira Hasegawa of AT&T Bell Labs was the first to suggest that solitons could exist in optical fibers. He also proposed the idea of a soliton-based transmission system to increase performance of optical telecommunications.

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 21, 2004 #2

Integral

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

A soliton is essentially a singleton, non periodic wave form. You may want to investigate the Korteweg-de Vries [edit spelling re Marlons post] equations as they form the basis for most solitons. Optical solitions are an exception to that, they arise out of the Bloch equations. [Edit: spelling corrected re Tide's post]. It has been a long time since I studied this so perhaps others will be able to bring fresh material to the front.

The university (Oregon St. U) I was attending has a world class wave tank facility, our class (grad level Math modeling) was promised a trip to the wave tank where they would generate a water wave soliton for us. Unfortunately, it never happened, I am not sure whether it was mechanical troubles or simply not being able to spare wave tank time to configure for solition generation.

As for how they effect us, I would say that they are an extremely rare natural event, or generated in a lab, so there is little or no effect that I know of.

Last edited: Oct 21, 2004
  4. Oct 21, 2004 #3
    Integral, i am sure you wanted to refer to the "Korteweg-de Vries equation"...

marlon

5. Oct 21, 2004 #4

arildno

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    Dearly Missed

Only a Belgian (or possibly, a Dutchman) could get those names right..:wink:

6. Oct 21, 2004 #5

Integral

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member