What are these thingies on suspension bridge cables?

• Thread starter matthyaouw
  • Start date
matthyaouw
Gold Member

Main Question or Discussion Point

Since I know there are a lot of engineer-types in these parts, maybe someone knows what these things are.

bridgee.jpg

Ther's a thing clamped high up on to the cable on the right, and every other cable on the bridge but I can't for the life of me work out what they are there for. any insight?

Answers and Replies

Dembadon
Gold Member
I haven't taken any engineering courses in my studies yet, but my guess is some sort of balance or stabilization mechanism? I'd imagine the cables could get pretty shifty in heavy winds, waves, etc. I'd guess that those "things" can be adjusted to take the wobble out of the cables?

Again, I'm no engineer; just throwin' it out there.

Those are Stockbridge dampers, a type of tuned mass damper. They're used to suppress vibrations in the cable and thus prevent structural damage and fatigue in the bridge. They're also used on some power lines and other cable-based structures.

drizzle
Gold Member
What's that red shadow for? A truck? Anyways, cool pic!

Oh for that thingy, I don't know but my guess would be to absorb vibrations caused by Earthquakes, if any by contacting those cables to a free ended solid material!

P.S. you beat me Vasara, damn it! I'm slow :grumpy:

matthyaouw
Gold Member
Those are Stockbridge dampers, a type of tuned mass damper. They're used to suppress vibrations in the cable and thus prevent structural damage and fatigue in the bridge. They're also used on some power lines and other cable-based structures.
Wonderful, thanks!
:smile:

Evo
Mentor
Another great picture matthyaouw!

Pyrrhus
Homework Helper
Those are nice marbles, we put on bridges to make them look neat :tongue2:

Love the photo, and I got to learn something new. Now how can I work "Stockbridge dampers" into a conversation?