What can you tell me about biophysics?

• Thread starter John Jacke
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Biophysics
In summary, the conversation discusses the speaker's dilemma between choosing a practical and well-paying career in engineering or pursuing their interest in biophysics, which may have uncertain pay potential. They are interested in working on advancements in fields such as brain enhancement and longevity, but these areas are still in their infancy and may only offer positions in academia. The conversation also brings up the idea of exploring proteomics, genomics, or epigenetics as potential career paths within biophysics. The conversation also touches on the misconception that engineering is mundane and the importance of finding personal fulfillment in a career. Finally, the conversation concludes with the notion that biophysics may not be for everyone and requires a strong interest in biology.
John Jacke
I'm about to be a junior and I'm majoring in physics. My problem is the money though. I'm going to be broke I think if I do this, but I don't want to do engineering at all. I was thinking of maybe later getting a masters in biophysics. I think I will get a better salary this way. I want to work on problems such as brain enhancements or living forever. I don't care how stupid that sounds either. I feel like we're getting close to being able to do these things now. There are classes offered in college specifically tailored to the biology of aging - I mean come on! I'm sure there is a way to, say, modify the brain to create super high intelligence/excellent memory or modify cells to keep them from dying. Maybe modify genes to create a new organism. I would say biomedical engineering but they only design devices and not tweak biology, right? I just really don't want to be in debt forever and I want to pursue something amazing at the same time...

Physics news on Phys.org
You have a real dilemma here: