What is the Intel Distribution for Python and how can it improve data analysis?

In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of a "distribution" in the context of Python, specifically the Intel Distribution and Anaconda from Continuum Analytics. The person is interested in using Python for numerical and data analysis and wants to know if they can utilize the Intel Distribution on their current computer with an AMD CPU and MSI GPU. They also mention not being familiar with applications like SciPy and NumPy and asks how to check if they have the Intel Distribution or how to install it via conda. It is explained that a distribution is simply an installation package for a company's version of a software type, and that Anaconda is a distribution from Continuum Analytics similar to the Intel Distribution. The conversation also briefly mentions acquiring a distribution by downloading it
Jamison Lahman
Hello,
I am relatively new to Python. I would really like to use Python for numerical and data analysis. I recently stumbled upon something called Intel Distribution from this article: http://www.infoworld.com/article/31...n-distribution-turbocharges-data-science.html
I don't really know what a distribution is in this context. It sounds promising and I would like to hear if anyone has more knowledge on this. I have an AMD CPU and MSI GPU on my tower which I hope to replace soon for an Intel chip and Nvidia GPU. Will I be able to utilize this Intel Distribution in the meantime?

Thanks

Edit: I already have anaconda installed (though I'm not sure I have it configured correctly.
when I run $ python, it gives me "Python 3.6.1 |Continuum Analytics, Inc.| (default, May 11 2017, 13:08:54)" so I imagine it's working. I am not yet familiar with applications like SciPy or NumPy so I haven't tested those. How should I go about checking if I have this Intel Distribution or installing via conda?

Last edited:
Technology news on Phys.org