1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What it takes to get into M.S. program in MIT

1. Oct 15, 2011 #1
    The title says it all, but I am going to introduce myself first.

Right now, I am pursuing (and enjoying) Bachelor's degree course in Mechanical Engineering from Jadavpur University, Kolkata, India. It has just been a little more than 2.5 months since I joined college. I have been dreaming to study at MIT for the past 4-5 years but didn't give SAT for the undergraduate courses due to financial and other reasons. So I have set a goal before me: to get to MIT after 3 more years. I am very research-minded (or whatever you call it). If I come across an interesting problem, I ponder over it single-mindedly for hours and sometimes days. I love ideas, concepts, theories and try to make a generalized theory from different problems. In short, I love making new theories and finding out unconventional ways of solving problems. My best friends always tell me that I would make a great researcher (& I hope this comes true!). I am very bad at games/sports/instruments etc. So, I haven't got much extra-curricular intuitions (which is undesirable).
    I have been searching the web for what it takes to get a M.S. from MIT, but I would like to take your opinions. I know that getting letters of recommendation is very important, and I have been searching for projects at many research institutes in my city.(but didn't get much till now.. :( )

I want to use my next 3 years wisely and sincerely enough to get an admission in MIT and with an outstanding CV. Please illuminate me on what different things I would need to do, that would give me an edge over others.

PS(s):