What it takes to get into M.S. program in MIT

• Thread starter saubhik
  • Start date
The title says it all, but I am going to introduce myself first.

Right now, I am pursuing (and enjoying) Bachelor's degree course in Mechanical Engineering from Jadavpur University, Kolkata, India. It has just been a little more than 2.5 months since I joined college. I have been dreaming to study at MIT for the past 4-5 years but didn't give SAT for the undergraduate courses due to financial and other reasons. So I have set a goal before me: to get to MIT after 3 more years. I am very research-minded (or whatever you call it). If I come across an interesting problem, I ponder over it single-mindedly for hours and sometimes days. I love ideas, concepts, theories and try to make a generalized theory from different problems. In short, I love making new theories and finding out unconventional ways of solving problems. My best friends always tell me that I would make a great researcher (& I hope this comes true!). I am very bad at games/sports/instruments etc. So, I haven't got much extra-curricular intuitions (which is undesirable).
I have been searching the web for what it takes to get a M.S. from MIT, but I would like to take your opinions. I know that getting letters of recommendation is very important, and I have been searching for projects at many research institutes in my city.(but didn't get much till now.. :( )

I want to use my next 3 years wisely and sincerely enough to get an admission in MIT and with an outstanding CV. Please illuminate me on what different things I would need to do, that would give me an edge over others.

PS(s):
[1] I know that that I have to give the GRE and my english isn't that strong, so strengthening my english is one of the things I need to work on.