Study Plan for Physics Students: What to Study After Calculus III?

• Thread starter Tosh5457
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Study
In summary, the conversation discusses the necessary mathematics courses for a physics student and the importance of studying differential equations, functional analysis, and differential geometry. It is also mentioned that Fourier transforms may be covered in the second year, and it is recommended to ask a second-year student for clarification on the proper way to study linear algebra.
Tosh5457
Hello, I'm studying Physics at the university, and I realized that the 1st semester of the 2nd year is the last semester that has a mathematics discipline (it's differential and integral calculus III).
I had linear algebra & analytic geometry and differential and integral calculus I on the 1st semester, and now on the 2nd semester I have differential and integral calculus II.

Obviously they don't teach all the necessary maths at the university (and 3rd year physics students complain about it)... So now I'm going to study linear algebra by myself because I didn't study it much last semester.
My question is what should I study next? I'm not rushing it, I know I'll still take a long time to study linear algebra, but I'd just like to know from the start what should be my plan.

Physics news on Phys.org
You should study differential equations thoroughly, first ODE's and then PDE's. They are extremely important in physics.

Klockan3 said:
You should study differential equations thoroughly, first ODE's and then PDE's. They are extremely important in physics.

Ok but we study that at the university, so can you suggest another thing?

Functional analysis (for quantum physics) or differential geometry (for relativity) seem like good options...

Tosh5457 said:
Ok but we study that at the university, so can you suggest another thing?