1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Analysis Which book will suit the following course syllabus (introductory analysis)?

1. Dec 16, 2015 #1
    Dear Physics Forum personnel,
    I am a undergraduate student with math and CS major who is currently taking an introductory analysis course called MATH 521 (Rudin-PMA). On the next semester, I will be taking the course called MATH 522, which is a sequel to 521. My impression is that 522 will be an analysis on manifolds, so I have been browsing books like Spivak, Munkres, Hubbard/Hubbard, Fleming, etc. However, I learned today that the course outline of 522 is deviated from my initial impression of it being the multivariable-analysis course. According to the course outline (URL is below), it seems the topics touch more or less the real analysis and topology. The official textbook is Rudin-PMA, but I do not think that book covers many topics for the 522. Could you suggest me some books dedicated to 522?

URL: https://www.math.wisc.edu/sites/default/files/521-522_0_1.pdf (very last page)
    URL: http://www.math.wisc.edu/~beichman/Syllabus522F14.pdf [Broken] (slight deviation)
    URL: https://www.math.wisc.edu/~seeger/522/syl.pdf (another deviated syllabus)

Should I get the books on real and functional analysis like Rudin-RCA, Stein/Sharkachi, Kolmogorov, Simmons, Lang-RFA?

Last edited by a moderator: May 7, 2017
  2. jcsd
  3. Dec 17, 2015 #2

mathwonk

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper