1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Why do some boats lean into turns?

1. Aug 19, 2012 #1
    Hi, I do quite alot of sailing, and I have recently noticed that when sailing boats make a sharp turn, they heel towards the outside of the turn. However, power boats lean towards the inside of the turn.

I assume it is something to do with the fact that they have differnt types of hull; sailing boats have displacement hulls, while power boats have planing hulls, and perhaps something to do with the fact that sailing boats have keels, while power boats do not.

I am only a keen GCSE student so please try and keep answers simple :D

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 19, 2012 #2

PhysicoRaj

Gold Member

The outward lean might be due to the ordinary inertia (centrifugal force), which is indeed increased with the presence of a deep long keel on sailboats. But for the inward lean of power boats, a little thinking must be done. Since powerboats have no keels, they experience less inertia but they do not experience 0 inertia, since it must be compensated for the speed the have!

4. Aug 19, 2012 #3

rcgldr

Homework Helper

I thought it was because the thrust and/or rudder is below the center of mass of the boat.

5. Aug 19, 2012 #4
    The keel keeps the sailboat on an even heading and also without a keel any slight side wind would tip the sailboat over.

6. Aug 19, 2012 #5

K^2

Science Advisor

Yes, it's just that. Typical power boat will have its prop bellow its center of mass and turn with the rudder. When you make a turn, this turns into a torque turning the boat inward. Simple as that.