Why isn't autodidacticism encourage more in our society?

• Thread starter pentazoid
  • Start date
In summary, the conversation discusses the increase in college attendance despite the availability of information and resources outside of college. It questions the necessity of a formal education for success in a field and suggests that self-education and autodidacticism should be promoted more. Examples of successful self-taught individuals are mentioned, such as Einstein and Newton, but it is also noted that having a degree can be important for job qualifications. The conversation also touches on the idea of college being more focused on grades and qualifications rather than promoting discussions and exchange of ideas.
pentazoid
You would think in this day and age, there would be a lot less people attending college now that subjects taught in college are not restricted only to college classrooms any more, but instead college attendance has increased dramatically in the past 50 years. In the early 20th century, only 3 percent of the population went to college. Now 25 percent of the population attends college.