Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Why isn't the pull of gravity neutral on large scales?

1. Dec 17, 2016 #1
    I'm only an interested layman so please forgive my lack of knowledge but assuming the universe is flat, infinite and the cosmological principle holds then why wouldn't the attractive force between galaxies cancel out?

If I think of a 2d analogy such as the surface of a sphere, and there were galaxies spread evenly on the surface, then geometrically speaking it would be impossible for everything to move towards each other (or away from each other) unless the size of the 3D sphere changed with time.

So does the fact that gravity and indeed dark energy produce the results observed mean we must live in a 4 dimensional spacial universe? Or is it correct to view space time as that extra spacial dimension?

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 17, 2016 #2

phinds

Gold Member
    2016 Award

What makes you think they don't?

Yes, so? It DOES change with time. See the link in my signature.

Absolutely not. Why would it?
    What extra dimension? None is needed.

4. Dec 17, 2016 #3

Drakkith

Staff: Mentor

The key is that matter is not distributed uniformly on a local scale. If one piece of matter is even slightly closer to one of its neighbors than to the others, then it will feel a net force in that direction and will accelerate. And it turns out that such non-uniformity definitely existed in the early universe, as all matter existed as an extremely hot, extremely dense plasma.

5. Dec 17, 2016 #4

Drakkith

Gravity isn't canceled. Otherwise galaxies wouldn't form, let alone galaxy clusters and superclusters.

6. Dec 17, 2016 #5
    Newtons theorem. I couldn't understand how it could ignore the effects of gravity outside the shell.

7. Dec 17, 2016 #6