Why isn't the pull of gravity neutral on large scales?

In summary: I'm struggling to understand how the universe would 'contract' due to gravity, which is the assumption used in the FRW equation as I understand it.I'm sorry, @phinds, I may have misunderstood your earlier post. Can we chalk it up to fatigue?I'm actually up way too late and should probably go to bed. o:)In summary, the universe appears to be expanding, but gravity may "cancel out" on larger scales.
rede96
I'm only an interested layman so please forgive my lack of knowledge but assuming the universe is flat, infinite and the cosmological principle holds then why wouldn't the attractive force between galaxies cancel out?

If I think of a 2d analogy such as the surface of a sphere, and there were galaxies spread evenly on the surface, then geometrically speaking it would be impossible for everything to move towards each other (or away from each other) unless the size of the 3D sphere changed with time.

So does the fact that gravity and indeed dark energy produce the results observed mean we must live in a 4 dimensional spatial universe? Or is it correct to view space time as that extra spatial dimension?

Space news on Phys.org
rede96 said:
I'm only an interested layman so please forgive my lack of knowledge but assuming the universe is flat, infinite and the cosmological principle holds then why wouldn't the attractive force between galaxies cancel out?
What makes you think they don't?

If I think of a 2d analogy such as the surface of a sphere, and there were galaxies spread evenly on the surface, then geometrically speaking it would be impossible for everything to move towards each other (or away from each other) unless the size of the 3D sphere changed with time.
Yes, so? It DOES change with time. See the link in my signature.

So does the fact that gravity and indeed dark energy produce the results observed mean we must live in a 4 dimensional spatial universe?
Absolutely not. Why would it?