Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Why we call 'Passive' sign convention?

1. Nov 23, 2008 #1
    Hello, It's my first time login.

I'm not good at english.

Of course, I'm not native speaker.

I wonder why we call 'passve' sign convention.

have a good day. :)

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 24, 2008 #2

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

4. Nov 24, 2008 #3

Redbelly98

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

I had never heard of passive and active sign convention before reading this. Now I've learned something new, thanks to you both!

5. Nov 24, 2008 #4
    ugh, i don't like that link at all. :uhh:

this is a recipe for failure.

6. Nov 25, 2008 #5

Redbelly98

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Can we simply say:

With passive sign convention, a positive current flows from the + terminal to the - terminal inside the device (examples: resistors, capacitors, inductors)

and for active sign convention, it's the other way around (examples: battery cells and other power supplies)

???

7. Nov 25, 2008 #6

tiny-tim

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Welcome to PF!

Yes, but nobody's answered the original question, which was, why passive? :cry:
    oh, and hello coolpursuit! :smile:

Welcome to PF!

8. Nov 25, 2008 #7

jim mcnamara

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Proton - one thing to note about Wikipedia - what one person views at 1000 may not be what you see at 2300. Wikipedia is not the most reliable source for a variety of reasons.

9. Nov 25, 2008 #8
    Re: Welcome to PF!

i'm not exactly sure i understand the question. passive components are passive no matter which current convention you choose, but...