Will a lack of modern computer technologies hurt me

• Thread starter xeno_fc
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Computer
In summary, the speaker has realized that they have focused on power, controls, and communications in their EE program, while their peers have delved into modern computer technologies. They are concerned that this may hurt their career prospects, but they believe that there is a demand for power engineering and it is important to not always follow the crowd.
xeno_fc
I just realized, nearly graduating from an EE program, that I devoted my interests to fields such as power, controls and communications.

Whereas, most of my peers diverged into modern computer related technologies but I'm majoring in power anyways.

I was wondering, will it hurt me since I'm just into math, electromagnetics and not the networking/computer stuff anyways.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
I don't think so. It seems that power engineering is something that I see a demand for.

Also you do have to be careful about following the crowd. Sometimes the fact that everyone is running in one direction is a signal that you should be running in another.