Will a Low GPA Due to an Accident Affect My University Applications?

• Thread starter santo35
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Physics gre
In summary, an industrial engineering student from India studying in a top college had an accident during a semester and was unable to complete a subject, resulting in a GPA of 0 for that semester. They will complete the subject by the end of their final year but will not have a GPA before the application deadline. The student has a strong profile with publications, projects, and a conference, and is aiming for middle tier universities. They are unsure if the incomplete subject will impact their application and are considering recalculating their GPA without it. They are also planning to take the subject before starting their masters.
santo35
Engineering to Physics and GPA

so here's the thing
i am an industrial engineering student from India studying in one of the top 5 colleges down here (NIT only next to IIT's). I had an accident and was hospitalized during one of my semester and wasnt able to finish a particular subject credits (a non physics subject) and now i am going to my final year and would most probably finish it by the end of my final year. because of which my GPA in that semester is currently '0' ( they calculate gpa only when all the credits has been completed) . i would need to apply for my universities by end of december by then i still wouldn't be completing it as the professor would let me take test only during next February and my GPA for that semmister would still be 0.

Would this be a hindrance for my application ? should i mention them this issue or should i calculate my GPA leaving that subject alone ?

My profile as of now -
2 Journal articles in physics (general relativity)
4 Projects in physics (2 summer and 2 winter projects) (general relativity and Quantum mechanics)
1 Statistical Math Project