1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Will a snowflake keep if you freeze it?

1. Jul 8, 2013 #1
    If you were to somehow catch a snowflake and put it in a freezer before it melts, will it keep its shape? My gut says no. Thermal motion will make it slowly jiggle into a blob of ice, or it might fall apart under its own weight. Is my gut right? Unfortunately I don't live in a place where it snows so I have little relevant experience.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 8, 2013 #2

LeonhardEuler

Gold Member

Since a freezer takes in hotter air with a higher level of humidity than can remain at very low temperatures, more ice will tend to condense on the snowflake and it will lose its original shape fairly soon.

4. Jul 8, 2013 #3

A.T.

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Since the structures form in free fall, I'm not sure if all of them can support their own weight, lying around somewhere.

5. Jul 8, 2013 #4

Drakkith

Staff: Mentor

Why would you expect this? My desk has been around for 30+ years and is still its original shape. Ice is a solid and retains its shape unless something else causes it to change.

Also, for those who don't think it can retain its shape under its own weight, I can see images of them doing just that on google images.

6. Jul 8, 2013 #5

sophiecentaur

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

An ice crystal would stay the same if it were kept in dry air, I imagine.
    Tupperware?

7. Jul 8, 2013 #6
    I'm not so sure. Water will sublime straight from a solid to a vapor and freeze straight from a vapor to a solid. The net effect of these 2 processes will be to shuffle material around so I'm pretty sure the snowflake will loose it's shape. What I'm not sure of is the time-scale.