Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Aerospace Wind turbine blade characteristics

1. Oct 5, 2008 #1

CPP

I'm about to start a project in which I want to study the effects of making modifications to a wind turbine blade. I am going to be able to use various external flow modeling software our aerospace labs. I am a mechanical engineer and am used to using solidworks and I understand that that can be used for some external flow. My real question is here:

-I have access to a wind tunnel and rapid prototype machine. I wish to model and place in the wind tunnel a wind turbine blade using the S809 airfoil. There is just a major point I am missing: how do I go about determining the lift/drag coefficients within the wind tunnel? I am far removed from the process of determining these and was hoping someone could point me in a general direction.

thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 6, 2008 #2

LURCH

Science Advisor

Upon what will your turbine blade model be mounted? Can the mount aparatus be fited with force-measuring devices?

4. Oct 6, 2008 #3

FredGarvin

Science Advisor

Yup. You need to measure the forces on the blade in the tunnel.

5. Oct 7, 2008 #4

CPP

I'll get a chance to see the tunnel some time soon and then I can better answer those questions.

Regards,
    Kane

6. Oct 7, 2008 #5

mgb_phys

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

If the blades rotation speed is slow compared to the wind speed would it be enough to mount the blade fixed in the airflow and just measure the torque at the root as it tries to turn?
    It would be much convenient to build and instrument than a rotating blade set.

7. Oct 23, 2008 #6