Can a Wing in Ground Effect Racer Be Built for Under $1000 USD?

• Thread starter PazHeping
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Ground
In summary, the designer is creating a small, simple ground effect racer that is like a pod racer from the Star Wars prequels. It has a single wing in back and twin shrouded props in front. The pilot will ride in a semi-shrouded open cockpit. The goal is to create something super simple and dynamic for short WIG races.
PazHeping
TL;DR Summary
Working on a very small electric aircraft that will fly mostly in ground effect regime.
Hi All,

I am working on a wing in ground effect racer. I’m a glider pilot with an engineering background. I want to create a very small very simple craft that will operate in the ground effect regime. Think pod racer from the Star Wars prequels. Most simply it’s a single wing in back that will be tailored for WIG and twin shrouded props in tractor configuration in front that will also counteract the main wings pitching moment.

When I talk about the scale of the craft I like to say it’s like a BMX with surfboard sized wings. I have included a drawing that shows a rough plan form and scale and also shows how the pilot will ride in a semi shrouded open cockpit. Like riding on a motorcycle with a fairing and small windshield.

The goal here is to create something super simple and dynamic for short WIG races. Like 2 minutes flight time. I want lots of folks to be involved. And have a craft that teams can put together for less than 1000 USD. The entire design will be open source so people can modify it. And maybe become part of an advanced STEM course. The flight control software is currently running on an arduino nano with a 6050 IMU and will be part of the hackable open source system that I hope folks will want to get into.