Deciding on a Field of Physics: A 4th Year Undergrad's Story

• Thread starter simplyred
  • Start date
In summary, the speaker chose to study quantum mechanics as their main field of study in their third year of undergraduate studies. Factors such as academic strengths and interests, job market, and advice from professors and peers influenced this decision. Switching to a new field in their fourth year was challenging, but their previous knowledge and skills in physics helped them adapt. Good time-management and organization skills were crucial in balancing coursework while exploring the new field. The speaker recommends carefully considering individual interests and goals before making the decision to switch fields in the fourth year.
simplyred
I'm a 4th yr undergrad - materials science/physics minor.

How did you choose what particular field of physics you wanted to study?
There's too many topics and obviously too little time to learn everything...

Please share some stories of fate of how you got stuck solving P vs NP ;)

Thanks
-simplyred

Physics news on Phys.org
Wrong Forum.

I understand the struggle of choosing a specific field of physics to study. There are endless possibilities and it can be overwhelming to try and narrow it down. I personally chose my field based on my interests and strengths, as well as the potential impact and relevance of the field in the real world.

I think it's important to explore different areas of physics during your undergraduate studies to see what resonates with you the most. For me, it was materials science that captured my attention and I decided to pursue it as my major. However, I also took courses in other areas such as astrophysics and quantum mechanics, which helped me gain a broader understanding of physics as a whole.