Florida Atlantic University's Honors College and math and physics

In summary: Well, do not let this dissuade you. The school does have a great engineering program. It's ranked #6 in the country. We have a strong program in both electrical and mechanical engineering. I would strongly advise you to get in touch with an engineering advisor. They can help you figure out if engineering is for you. I also advise you to look at other schools. There are plenty of great schools out there. Just do your research. In summary, the program is great, the department is strong, and the school is small. However, it is well worth the price.
Subdot
Hello members of physicsforums! I had not ever planned on making use of this section of the forum because I had joined primarily for the wonderful homework help facilities here, but I figured that since I already have an account here I might as well. Needless to say, I am a little nervous about posting this because this is my first time posting a thread like this…

Anyway, I was accepted to Florida Atlantic University’s Honors College (a subdivision of Florida Atlantic University). From lurking around here, the general advice seems to be that one’s choice of school for undergraduate education does not matter so long as the desired department(s) is good. So I was wondering about the quality of this school’s undergraduate physics and math programs. Has anyone here any knowledge of this or is able to figure it out?

Some background information to help. I am a senior in high school who is self-studying math from Apostol’s Calculus. I really enjoy math and physics, and because I did well enough on my SATs and in school to have a shot at being admitted, I did what most in my position have done and applied to MIT. I was deferred to regular decision and so am still awaiting a decision.