Understanding Eigenvectors and Eigenvalues in Linear Algebra

In summary, the conversation is about finding an eigenvector for a given matrix and discussing the properties of eigenvectors. The final step results in two different eigenvectors, but they are both valid as any scalar multiple of an eigenvector is also an eigenvector. The conversation concludes with a clarification that both eigenvectors correspond to the eigenvalue of 0.
TheSpaceGuy
I am trying to get an eigenvector for the following matrix, I am up to the final step.
4 1
0 0

I got it to be

is this the same as

sorry I am pretty new to linear algebra.

Physics news on Phys.org
TheSpaceGuy said:
I am trying to get an eigenvector for the following matrix, I am up to the final step.
4 1
0 0

I got it to be

is this the same as
sorry I am pretty new to linear algebra.

Of course, they aren't the same vector. But if x is an eigenvector then c*x is also an eigenvector for any constant c. In your example the c is (-1). Both of those are fine eigenvectors.

As Dick said, any scalar multiple of an eigenvector is an eigenvector- in fact, any linear combination of eigenvectors is an eigenvector.

Of course, a good way to check if any vector is any eigenvector is to use the definition of "eigenvector". If v is an eigenvector of A, corresponding to eigenvalue [itex]\lambda[/itex], then [itex]Av= \lambda v[/itex].

Here,
[tex]\begin{bmatrix}4 & 1 \\ 0 & 0\end{bmatrix}\begin{bmatrix}-1 \\ 4\end{bmatrix}= \begin{bmatrix}-4+ 4 \\ 0\end{bmatrix}= \begin{bmatrix}0 \\ 0\end{bmatrix}= 0\begin{bmatrix}-1 \\ 4\end{bmatrix}[/tex]
and
[tex]\begin{bmatrix}4 & 1 \\ 0 & 0\end{bmatrix}\begin{bmatrix} 1 \\ -4\end{bmatrix}= \begin{bmatrix}4- 4 \\ \end{bmatrix}= \begin{bmatrix}0 \\ 0 \end{bmatrix}= 0\begin{bmatrix}1 \\ -4\end{bmatrix}[/tex]

So these are both eigenvectors corresponding to eigenvalue 0.

Last edited by a moderator:
Thanks to the both of you. That really clears things up for me!