REU/anything useful after freshman year

In summary: Recommendations. In summary, a freshman at SUNY Stony Brook is interested in doing an REU over the summer. He recommends getting involved in research early and recommends letters of recommendation.
LBloom
Hi, I'm an incoming freshman at SUNY Stony Brook. I know it might be a little early planning for my next summer, but I want to make sure i don't waste it like i did this one. I worked at a camp job and watched the Lewin lectures on freshman physics (to supplement AP physics) and the MIT lectures on Multivariable Calculus. Now, the job did help with money and the lectures will help with the classes, but its nothing i can really put on an application for a physics major.
I was looking at REUs, and they appeared perfect. I would get paid more than i do now, they would provide housing, and best of all, i get to work on physics research over the summer. However, it appears like a lot of them prefer sophomores and juniors, and as of now I have no research experience to speak of, although i'll try to fix that in college. In terms of physics courses, first semester i'll be taking Physics B (an intro course on waves, fluids, thermodynamics, motion of rigid bodies), but next semester I'll be taking two sophomore physics classes, PHY 251 (modern physics and lab) and 277 (where I'll be learning C+++ or fortran 90), and maybe an intro to chemistry or an intro to astronomy. I'm hoping the knowledge of computer languages will make me more marketable.

If anyone has info on an REU that targets freshman or that they've had good experience with, any help would be appreciated. I looked at the NSFs website for a list of REUs, but they don't have a complete list (they didnt include some colleges like boston college). I'd be willing to look beyond REUs to any internships or programs, but obviously an REU would be preferable.

Physics news on Phys.org