Flow Control Valves - Help for Mech Engg Student

In summary, the conversation discusses the topic of flow control using valves and the importance of understanding "Cv" in sizing control valves. Various resources, such as valve manufacturer websites and Fisher's Control Valve Handbook, are suggested for further information on the subject.
venkatr56
hello i am a mech engg student, i have few doubts in fluid dynamics and thermal engg subjects.. i would like to be cleared of them by this discussion forums
could anyone please explain the principle of flow control using valves...waiting for ...

Engineering news on Phys.org
The area of flow control is a pretty broad area in that there are a lot of ways that the control is achieved. Can you be a little more specific with your question?

To get you started off, I would suggest looking over web sites of valve manufacturers (Fisher/Emerson, Valtek, etc...). They have tons of information.

The first and foremost thing I would suggest reading is Fisher's Control Valve Handbook. It is located here:

http://www.documentation.emersonprocess.com/groups/public/documents/book/cvh99.pdf

Here is another resource for Control Valve information.

Understanding "Cv" is important to sizing control valves. This is GPM of water that a valve will pass for a pressure drop of 1 psi. Once you know this, you can determine using the Cv calculations how much flow that same valve will pass at other pressure drops, or determine what pressure drop you can expect from other flows.
http://www.engineeringtoolbox.com/flow-coefficients-d_277.html"

Last edited by a moderator:

1. What is a flow control valve?

A flow control valve is a type of valve that regulates the flow rate or pressure of a fluid in a system. It can be used to control the flow of liquid or gas in pipelines, pumps, and other mechanical systems.

2. How does a flow control valve work?