Is Taking a CAD Class Worthwhile for Engineering Students?

• Thread starter Miike012
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Class
In summary: Additionally, it may be beneficial to take a drafting course and an introductory course in CAD, as they are required in your major. It would also be useful to consider taking a course in manufacturing fundamentals, as it will provide an understanding of various manufacturing processes and the use of CAD in these processes. Ultimately, it is important to consult with your academic advisor to determine the best course of action for your specific academic goals. In summary, it is recommended that you consider taking a drafting course, an introductory CAD course, and a course in manufacturing fundamentals based on your major requirements and academic goals.
Miike012
My degree is for engineering. This semester I will be taking a CAD class, but before I take this class I wanted to know if it would be a waste of my time to take?

Physics news on Phys.org
What engineering program are you in ? What use do you think the CAD package might have ? What kind of CAD package are you referring to ?

CAD ( Computer Aided Design) is a general term it my refer to AutoCAD, Solidworks, VHDL, Verilog, Catia etc...

Depending on your major and the software used in the "CAD" class, the class could be either useful or useless.

I want to be an Aeronautical engineer. The CAD class that I am taking is called..." Technical Drafting I " The description is .."Fundamentals of drafting including lettering, basic drawing concepts, geometric construction and multiview projection."

I added an attachment of the few classes they have... The picture shows the order that they need to be taken.

Attachments

• CAD.jpg
    CAD.jpg
    33 KB · Views: 392
You should definitely take one of them. I am surprised you are not already required to take a few.

At my school the guys in aero have to take a drafting course and a few courses that introduces them to solid-works and Catia.