Thesis Masters in electrical engineering

In summary: No, you can start anytime during the year.In summary, you should read through relevant journals to get a better understanding of the field you're interested in, then start your own research project, and finally submit your thesis when it's complete.
ramya_maha
Hi,

I am really very worried about doing a masters thesis in Electrical Engineering. I have never done research in that detail before except for my fourth year project. I am very confused as to what to do as I have some topics in mind in which I would like to do research on but not sure how to start off with. How do you find out that the websites that you are researching are actually valid sites? Would the university let us know about that or are we supposed to figure out those by ourselves? Also I read through some of the threads where it says that we need to come up with our own topics for researching. Is it true that some professors would give the students a topic to perform research on? I am interested in the Network and Communication field of Electrical Engineering. Is there any sets of websites that have topics that one can do research on? I am thinking of topics in Wireless Communications. If someone could help me out it would be of great help. Thanks a lot.

Physics news on Phys.org
Ramya hmm. ...you are on the right path. Is your intension is to grab a nobel prize??

It sounds like you're a little confused as to the nature of graduate level research.

It's not a report on something that someone else has done. A thesis is a report on work that you've done.

You begin with a literature review in your field of interest. This is not just going to "websites." Rather, it means that you read through the relevant peer-reviewed journals to the field. A mentor or supervisor can (and should)guide you as to which journals you should be reading and what the most relevant papers are. But that's only the beginning.