Basic partial differential problem

In summary, to solve a problem like this, you would integrate the partial derivatives with respect to x: \frac{\partial^{2}u}{\partial x^{2}}=0 then you would solve for u(x,y,z) by integrating again with respect to y and z held constant.
miniradman

Homework Statement

Find the solution of each of the following partial differential equation

[itex]\frac{\partial^{2}u}{\partial x^{2}} = 0[/itex]

Homework Equations

assume the product form?
[itex] u(x,y) = f(x)g(y)[/itex] ? (not 100% sure)

The Attempt at a Solution

Hello, I'm only new to PDEs and I was wondering what kind of algorithm is used to solve a function such as this (with no boundary conditions).

I have the solution which states that
therefore:
[itex]\frac{\partial u}{\partial x} = f(y)[/itex]

therefore:
[itex]u(x,y) = xf(y)+g(y)[/itex]

but I cannot see the intuition behind this, does anyone know?

Physics news on Phys.org
miniradman said:

Homework Statement

Find the solution of each of the following partial differential equation

[itex]\frac{\partial^{2}u}{\partial x^{2}} = 0[/itex]

Homework Equations

assume the product form?
[itex] u(x,y) = f(x)g(y)[/itex] ? (not 100% sure)

The Attempt at a Solution

Hello, I'm only new to PDEs and I was wondering what kind of algorithm is used to solve a function such as this (with no boundary conditions).

I have the solution which states that
therefore:
[itex]\frac{\partial u}{\partial x} = f(y)[/itex]

therefore:
[itex]u(x,y) = xf(y)+g(y)[/itex]

but I cannot see the intuition behind this, does anyone know?

Where do constants of integration come from? From the fact that the derivative of a constant is zero.

So here, except that "derivative of a constant is zero" is replaced by "partial derivative with respect to [itex]x[/itex] of a function which doesn't vary with [itex]x[/itex] is zero".