Can a biology major enter a bioengineering grad program?

In summary, the conversation discusses the possibility of switching from a Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) degree to an engineering degree in order to pursue a graduate program in bioengineering. While it may be challenging to switch during the second year, it is recommended to take relevant engineering courses during undergraduate studies to increase chances of admission to a bioengineering graduate program. Some universities have specific programs for engineering biology, but it may not result in an accredited engineering degree. Overall, it is advised to carefully plan coursework and research programs to increase chances of success.
ander
I am in my first year at the university as a Bachelor of the Arts student rather than as an engineering student. Though I may be able to switch in my second year, this isn't likely given the first-year course load in the engineering school. If I were to get the B.A., would I be able to enter a graduate program in engineering?

My interests are mostly in biology/bioengineering. If I couldn't get into the chem & bio engineering program as a second-year student I would most likely major in molecular biology. I checked the websites of some grad programs and most implied (or said outright) that students typically come from undergrad engineering backgrounds. I was curious to know if anybody here has any experience switching from a B.A. to engineering.

Thanks,
AX

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
yeah, but try to take the classes you've missed during undergrad. . . if you can. . .

though most grad programs will have you take a year of make-up coursework. . .