Can I use plastic tape to fix the rips on batteries

In summary: One must wonder what the OP's battery has been through to get scored like that.We're guessing about what kind of rip he meant.
kenny1999
I bought a new battery of D size today but I noticed that there is some rips (not much),
I am not experienced and I certainly won't rewrap the whole battery. I'd like to know if
it's okay to use fix it by taping the part with a small plastic tape??

Engineering news on Phys.org
If you're talking about a rip in the metal casing, I'd suggest that you toss the battery.

kenny1999 said:
I bought a new battery of D size today but I noticed that there is some rips (not much),
I am not experienced and I certainly won't rewrap the whole battery. I'd like to know if
it's okay to use fix it by taping the part with a small plastic tape??
Photo of the battery (and rips) would be of help

Likes davenn and phinds
No. Safety first please. Please don't tape batteries unless mil-spec-level necessity forces you so to do.

• Skeptical
Likes davenn
sysprog said:
No. Safety first please. Please don't tape batteries unless mil-spec-level necessity forces you so to do.
What's that mean .. mil-spec-level necessity?

i take the question about rips in the battery as being the protective plastic covering of the case, which may or may not be the situation. If it's new, why the rips are there in the first place, one has to wonder.

Regular plastic tape might not be a good option for anything electrical.
There is such a thing as electrical tape used to cover connections.

mil-spec means military specification -- please don't use a battery that you know is bad -- please get another . . .

Likes 256bits
An ordinary flashlight "D" cell you say? If the metal case is intact and nothing leaking from it, sure, put some tape on it if needed, or if you just feel more comfortable that way. For almost all uses small tears or scratches are not a problem and can be ignored.