How Do I Choose the Right Optical Lenses for Building a Telescope?

In summary, a high school student is interested in building a telescope with a 4 cm eyepiece and 5 cm objective lens to view the craters of the moon and the satellites of Jupiter. They are seeking tips for choosing the optical lenses and have considered purchasing lenses online. The recommended magnification for a telescope is the focal length of the objective divided by the focal length of the eyepiece. It is suggested to use a doublet lens to correct for chromatic aberration. Surplus Shed is recommended as a source for affordable optical components. The diameter and focal length are important factors to consider when choosing an objective lens. Links to resources for building a small refractor telescope and a Galilean-style telescope are provided. Edmund
DrCy
Hi. I am new to PF. I am an incoming high schooler with an interest in astrophysics, and a friend and myself are working on building a telescope (not a very sophisticated one, just one that can reveal the craters of the moon and the satellites of Jupiter). I am curious to know if any amateur (or not-so amateur) astronomers have any tips for optical lenses of the telescope. The eyepiece for the telescope will be 4 cm, and the objective lens will be 5 cm. I have considered going online to order eyeglasses, though most sites do not sell the circular, uncut glass without a frame. If I could purchase such a lens, I would not know how to choose a prescription. I do not know how one chooses the desired level of magnification. Does anyone on here have any advice on optical lenses?

Astronomy news on Phys.org
The magnification of a telescope is the focal length of the objective divided by the focal length of the eyepiece. For example, your 40mm eyepiece has a focal length of 40 mm. (You were talking about the focal length when saying it was 4 cm weren't you?) If your objective has a focal length of 400 mm then the magnification is 10x.