Choosing a university in Canada

In summary, a Colombian student is looking to study physics in Canada and is considering universities like SFU, University of Calgary, and McMaster. They are interested in astrophysics and quantum physics and are seeking advice and suggestions. They are also considering Queen's University, which has a strong physics program and ties to research laboratories. Another student studying physics at SFU offers their perspective and recommends taking computer science courses. They also mention that SFU may not have as many opportunities in astrophysics compared to other schools.
Emilioc
Hi everyone.
I am a Colombian student looking to study in Canada.
I am trying to apply for physics undergrad programs in universities like SFU, UoCalgary and mcmaster.
I am interested in astrophysics and also quantum physics
Since you know a lot I would appreciate if you give me advice and suggestions, I open for any comments.
Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
Have a look at Queen's University in Kingston, Ontario. They have a very strong physics program for a long time. I enjoyed my time there as an undergrad. Queen's started the Sudbury Neutrino Observatory (Queen's Arthur McDonald won the Nobel Prize in Physics 2015). The physics dept does research there and also has strong ties to the Chalk River nuclear research laboratories which had 2 Nobel prize winners.

Likes Emilioc
I am studying physics at SFU right now. If you have any questions let me know and I'll try to answer them.

Likes Emilioc
bentleyghioda said:
I am studying physics at SFU right now. If you have any questions let me know and I'll try to answer them.
Thanks for the help
Are you enjoying it? I mean do you think it was a good decision to go to SFU or you think there would've been better options.
what do you think about the profs?
and do you like Vancouver?
I from the list SFU is my favorite from the list because I hear a lot of ggod things of it.

Andrew Mason said: