Convolution integral problem

In summary: That is possible for all ##\tau \in [-T, 0]##. In summary, the conversation revolved around finding the limits of integration for a convolution integral in a signals course. The relevant equation was given as x(t) * h(t) = (from -∞ to +∞) ∫x(k)h(t - k)dk, where k is used as the integration variable. The limits for this integral are from -∞ to ∞, but the focus was on finding the range in which the integral is non-zero for the fourth interval, where 2T < t < 3T. It was determined that the range for non-zero values is [-T, 0].
Abdulwahab Hajar

Homework Statement

Hi all, I hope you all can help me
so I'm studying for my signals course and I encounter this example in the book, and the answer is there but the solution isn't... The convolution integral exists for 3 intervals and I could evaluate the first two just fine... however I can't find the limits of integration of the third.
The third one corresponds to the fourth in the picture which is 2T < t < 3T
The question and answer is shown in the picture attached

Thank you!

Homework Equations

No relevant equations

The Attempt at a Solution

I believe that the lower limit should be -2T + t, and the upper limit should be to T.

Attachments

• convolution.png
    convolution.png
    24.1 KB · Views: 390
Physics news on Phys.org
Abdulwahab Hajar said:
I believe that the lower limit should be -2T + t, and the upper limit should be to T
Limit for what ? This will become clear when you post your relevant equation: the definition of a convolution. Per that definition, the integration limits for ##\tau## are ##-\infty## and ##+\infty##. Of course for most ##\tau## the contribution is zero. Except for ##\tau\in [0,T]##

BvU said: