Derive the wave equation for fields E, B from the potentials

In summary, the conversation discusses deriving the wave equations for the E and B fields in vacuum using the scalar and vector potentials. It is mentioned that the wave equation for the B field can be derived by taking the curl of the homogenous wave equation for the vector potential, but there is uncertainty about deriving the wave equation for the E field. The conversation goes on to discuss using the Lorenz gauge condition and making assumptions about the well-behavedness of functions in order to derive the wave equations for both fields.
phenomenologic
Thread moved from the technical forums, so no Homework Template is shown
I'm studying for my electrodynamics exam and one of the past exam questions is:

From the scalar and vector potentials, derive the homogenous wave equations for E and B fields in vacuum.

I did derive the wave equation for the B field by simply taking the curl of the homogenous wave equation for the vector potential A. But I got stuck deriving the wave equation for the E field. I think it has to come from a tricky combination of the following four equations:
1) Definition of the E field E = -Φ - ∂A/dt
2&3) Wave equations for Φ and A
4) Lorenz gauge condition: ∇.A - (1/c^2)(∂^2Φ/∂t^2) = 0

Any help is appreciated!

Physics news on Phys.org
If Φ satisfies the wave equation, can you show that -Φ also satisfies the wave equation?

Hmm, so I write -(ΔΦ-(1/c^2)(∂^2Φ/∂t^2))=Δ(-Φ)-(1/c^2)(∂^2(-Φ)/∂t^2)=0. And this operation (i.e, taking nabla 'inside' the Laplacian and the partial time derivative) is allowed, right? There are no restrictions on it as far as I know but I'm not 100% sure.

Then I perform the same trick for -∂A/∂t. Similarly, I take the partial derivative inside (again, assuming it's allowed), showing the equation is satisfied for -∂A/∂t. Then add up the new equations, use formula 1) above and done?

That was what I wasn't 100% sure. Thanks!