Do professional mathematicians remember all the proofs they come across?

In summary: if you can't follow the steps and the logic behind it, you're not going to be able to understand the proof.
Group_Complex
Hello, I am a college freshman currently taking Real Analysis. Calculus was fairly mechanical, and dare I say it trivial, the concepts were easy to grasp and it required little memorisation. As I have began to study more abstract areas of mathematics, I have found my speed and confidence have decreased, and whilst I still understand the material, I will often doubt my memory of a definition or a proof, and have to resort to looking back at the textbook. This frustrates me incredibly as I feel it is indicative of a lack of ability and talent within the sphere of abstract mathematics. At the beginning of the real analysis course I set myself the goal of re deriving many of the proofs of the theorems presented before reading them in the text. Needless to say I have found this process to be drawn out, and in the end I have had to just read and understand the proofs from the text. Yet even then I find myself forgeting key details and having to re read the proofs and or definitions.

My question to professional mathematicians (or anyone that has taken a significant amount of pure mathematics) is this: Do you find it easy to remember every proof you read, and do you find yourself having to re-read books that you had previously mastered so as to remember key details? Is the process of continued revision indicative of the profession of pure mathematics, or is a mathematician supposed to remember key details without revision? Is this a problem that I can fix or is it a sign that I have reached my mathematical limit?

Physics news on Phys.org