Falling in love, having sex and being happy makes you live longer?

In summary, stress has been shown to lower one's lifespan, and increase the risk of certain health problems.
timeuser84
Is it true? what do studies say about this? is there any proof or evidence that supports this?

Biology news on Phys.org
What has your research found? What do studies say? Is there any evidence that supports this?

Likes Evo, pinball1970, russ_watters and 1 other person
You find very little in Biology journals, Psychology has:
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3332527/
Short answer: yes, there is a relationship.
Try reading the paper. It is not very technical.

Or google for 'NIH life expectancy and positive emotional involvement' for more papers. 'Love [and other keywords]' did not return much. Some anthroplogy papers because, I assume, love is viewed as cultural.

As a biologist, I see most of the resultset of the search I show above as Psychology more than anything else.

• Informative
Likes Evo and berkeman
(falling in love, having sex) and (being happy makes you live longer) can be mutually exclusive.

There are certainly studies that show being happy contributes to longer life, or conversely being unhappy (stressed, anxious or despaired) can shorten one's life.

I've known lots of couples, who ostensibly fell in love and had intimate relationships only to have those relationships disintegrate for various reasons. I haven't followed many over the course of their lifetimes thought. I only know that the first condition didn't lead to a happy long-term relationship.

On the other hand, I can vouch for my parents' and grandparents' experiences (but that's anecdotal).