Hey everybody - I need to pick a major for college applications

In summary, high school student is considering majors and wants advice. He is fairly nerdy, interested in a variety of topics, and spends a lot of time studying and teaching himself. He is considering a physics major, but is worried about the future if he does not pursue a career in medicine. He is also worried about the number of girls in physics and wants to improve his chances of admission to a competitive college.
Willow Wanda
Hello y'all! I'm a high school student and I'm looking for some advice:)

I am very interested in physics, quantum mechanics in particular. I'm a bit of an overachiever, and I usually overthink everything. I come from a family of doctors, and although they don't pressure me into following in their footsteps, they generally don't approve of the pursuit of physics careers. As a junior in high school, I'm beginning to plan for college, and I was wondering, does anyone have any suggestion for majors?

I'm fairly nerdy - very interested in string theory, loop quantum gravity, astrophysics, quantum theory, but also other classes like chemistry and biology; honesty any STEM class. I spend my free time studying and teaching myself a wide variety of generally useless information, and I read a lot of, mostly nonfiction science books

Doesn't anyone have any college major ideas for applications? I'm looking for something interesting, stem related, and probably more along a physics track, without it being too specific as to impede a medical career (I really don't want to disappoint my family. They say I don't need to go into medicine, but my parents have made it clear that there aren't many jobs in physics, especially for women. They consider it a more masculine subject, and although they support whatever I want to study, they strongly against physics. I don't want to restrict myself from the medical field, as if I do end up changing my mind in the future, I would never live it down)