Hobbies for electrical engineering (ideas)

In summary, the conversation discusses different hobbies that involve using electrical engineering knowledge and skills. Some suggestions include working as an apprentice with a certified electrician, getting a HAM radio license, building RC cars or planes, disassembling and modifying electrical appliances, and combining interests in electronics and music. The conversation also emphasizes the importance of gaining practical skills and experience in addition to academic studies in electrical engineering.
brojas7
I am studying to be an electrical engineer and want to use what I am learning in a hobby. If there is any engineers that have an electronic type hobby what is it and where did you get the idea from?

Engineering news on Phys.org
Off the top of my head, being an apprentice with someone (certified electrician) who is wiring basements to finish them off is a great way to learn what is going on in a practical manner. Wiring all the outlets and lights in parallel on different circuits, figuring how many lights or receptacles on one circuit, wiring three way switches, switching out breakers, landing homeruns (power is completely shut off for all this).

And...you can get paid for something that you enjoy and you can get that great feeling of everything actually working when you flip that switch for the first time. Also great to have a skill to fall back on during tough recessions.

Don't forget the grunt work involved, drilling all the holes thru studs, floor joists and or rafters. Then pulling all the wire (rough in, need inspection) After inspection passes, then acutally connecting all the wires (finish, need another inspection) is the fun part:)

brojas7 said:
I am studying to be an electrical engineer and want to use what I am learning in a hobby. If there is any engineers that have an electronic type hobby what is it and where did you get the idea from?