How Can I Build a Homemade Particle Accelerator?

In summary, the individual expressing interest in building a particle accelerator is unqualified and should instead focus on a more achievable project such as building a cloud chamber. Building a particle accelerator requires specialized education and should not be attempted without proper supervision and knowledge of safety precautions. Previous threads on this topic have been locked due to safety concerns.
Interested user
TL;DR Summary
I have always been very interested in particle accelerators and what they can do so I thought, maybe I should try to build one?
I have very little knowledge on engineering or electrical engineering at the moment, which is why I would like to learn more about it. I have read many articles on them but I am still unclear of some of the materials required for something like this. I am very unqualified to be discussing something like this, let alone attempt to construct it. This is why I want to learn about one as well as learn the mechanical components and try to construct it. Please enlighten me on the concept of particle accelerators. Any information is much appreciated and thank you in advance.

• Haha
Likes PeroK
Physics news on Phys.org
Thread closed briefly for Moderation...

Interested user said:
Summary:: I have always been very interested in particle accelerators and what they can do so I thought, maybe I should try to build one?

I am very unqualified to be discussing something like this, let alone attempt to construct it. This is why I want to learn about one as well as learn the mechanical components and try to construct it.
Not many people are qualified to build a particle accelerator on their own, even small ones. It has been done, but generally within a group with a Mentor/Supervisor, and generally with at least part of an undergraduate education under your belt. See this for example:

https://www.symmetrymagazine.org/article/august-2010/the-do-it-yourself-cyclotron