How can I convert loss units, dB/mm, to mm^-1

In summary: Does that help?I am not good at code, but I don't see these refractive index values being used in your code. You need to include them in the calculations. Also is this a plane wave with linear loss? or is there an exponential factor? (as Baluncore suggested with E vs P)
gps57
I am trying to simulate mode loss for a waveguide and the units I get for loss are dB/mm, but I want to convert the units to just mm^-1 so I can the absorption (α) value. I am guessing there is a specific value that I need to either multiply or divide my values with, but I'm just not sure what that value is.

Engineering news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF.

The dB is just one way to express a ratio as a logarithm, so addition can replace multiplication, and multiplication can replace exponentiation.

I believe you are correct, you may just need to convert the distance the signal takes to fall by 1 dB, into the distance the signal takes for to fall to 1/e.

Can you please give us the equations you are using that employ the absorption coefficient, α.

Likes BvU
Baluncore said:
Welcome to PF.

The dB is just one way to express a ratio as a logarithm, so addition can replace multiplication, and multiplication can replace exponentiation.

I believe you are correct, you may just need to convert the distance the signal takes to fall by 1 dB, into the distance the signal takes for to fall to 1/e.

Can you please give us the equations you are using that employ the absorption coefficient,
Thank you, and thank you for your reply.

The equation I have is T = I_0 * e^{-x*α}, where T is the transmission and α the absorption coefficient. Essentially, I need graphs that show α vs frequency, but I'm just having trouble with converting the units, as I mentioned in the question.

Are you considering the power, or the electric or magnetic field?
What is the form of your equation given dB?
Do you use; dB =10⋅Log(power ratio); or, dB = 20⋅Log(amplitude ratio) .