How can powder resistivity be measured with 4-point probe?

In summary, the individual is studying Fe powder samples and has used a 2-point probe to measure resistivity. They now want to use a 4-point probe, but are unsure of how to prepare the powder sample for it. They are seeking advice on the best method to do so.
sunwoo lee
I am studying on Fe powder samples.

I have used I-V measurement system to get resistivty.

However, I would like to measure with 4-point probe.

but I am confused how to prepare the powder sample for 4-point probe.

could you tell me there is a way?

Physics news on Phys.org
sunwoo lee said:
I am studying on Fe powder samples.

I have used I-V measurement system to get resistivty.

However, I would like to measure with 4-point probe.

but I am confused how to prepare the powder sample for 4-point probe.

could you tell me there is a way?

How did you measure it with a 2-point probe? You can probably just do it the same way, and use separate wires for the excitation current and voltage measurement paths...

1. What is a 4-point probe and how does it measure powder resistivity?

A 4-point probe is a device used to measure the resistivity of a material. It consists of four evenly spaced probes that are used to apply a known current and measure the resulting voltage. The distance between the probes is known, and the resistance is calculated using Ohm's law. The resistivity of a powder can be measured by compacting it into a solid disc and using the 4-point probe on the surface of the disc.

2. What is the principle behind the 4-point probe method for measuring powder resistivity?

The 4-point probe method is based on the principle of the four-point measurement technique, also known as the Kelvin method. This technique eliminates the effects of probe and contact resistance, making it highly accurate for measuring the resistivity of materials with high resistivity, such as powders.