How did you learn "simple" physics?

• Thread starter dRic2
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Physics
In summary, the conversation discusses the fascination with "simple" physics and its relevance in daily life, particularly in the first years of university/college. The speaker admits to getting stuck with questions and doubts, but finds it rewarding to solve them. They also question if others have had similar experiences. A humorous example of the difference between theoretical and real-life physics is mentioned.
dRic2
Gold Member
Hi, I'm still a student but there is something that has always captured my interest: "simple" physics. For "simple" physics I don't necessary mean easy physics, but rather some concepts and applications (more or less complex) that we encounter in day by day life. Basically that part of physics (as "introductions" to classical mechanics, thermodynamics and simple electromagnetism) that is thought during the first years of university/college. My professors assume those things for granted (and they are!), but often, looking at questions in this and other forums, I get stuck with some intriguing problems and lots of doubts arise. I'm generally happy about that because doubts make you expert once solved, but I was wondering: is it just me? Was I a negligent student? Or some of you share/shared this situation?

Ric

Ps: I also find ironic the fact that I keep studying more advanced stuff, but I still like to think about things like why water will "disappear" from my glass if I leave it open :confused::confused:

Physics news on Phys.org
I often feel the same as you do

Things that are easy on the first sight quite often get complicated when we get to the real life situation. Spherical cow may nicely bounce off the wall, real cow will not :wink:

Likes DennisN and dRic2
Borek said:
Spherical cow may nicely bounce off the wall...

I don't know why but I had fun time trying to imagine that ahahah

Borek said: