How does the steam turbine work in a solar thermal power plant?

In summary, the engineer is trying to model a CSP plant according to DNI change during the day, but is still having trouble understanding how the steam turbine works. In order to produce electricity, the inlet temperature and pressure, and the outlet pressure are all constant, but the steam mass flow rate decreases if the DNI decreases. The engineer is looking for charts or resources that will show him the electrical production of the generator and the steam outlet parameters.
Solibus
(English is not my native language so I apologize for the rest of the post)

Hi everyone!

I'm an engineering student and I'm currently working on a solar thermal project. I'm trying to model a concentrating solar power (CSP) plant according to DNI (Direct Normal Incidence) change during a day, in the objective of knowing the electricity generation of the plant.

As a first step, I would like to model it with an ideal Rankine cycle:
  • 1-2 Isentropic compression in a pump
  • 2-3 Constant pressure heat addition in a boiler
  • 3-4 Isentropic expansion in a turbine
  • 4-1 Constant pressure heat rejection in a condenser

But I'm still trying to understand how does the steam turbine work in a solar thermal power plant. Right now, if I have to follow the Rankine cycle, I would think that the inlet temperature and pressure, and the outlet pressure are all steady parameters. And probably the steam mass flow rate decreases if the DNI decreases as well. So the turbine will rotate more slowly and generate less electricity. Can you tell me if it actually happens like this?

But can I find somewhere on internet some charts with for example the steam inlet parameters and it will show me the electricity production of the generator and the steam outlet parameters?

Thank you for your help.

Engineering news on Phys.org
Solibus said: