How long can I expect to work on Spivak?

In summary, the student wants to learn mathematics and physics on their own and thinks that Spivak will help them. He plans to cover the book in 16 weeks if he can put in the effort, but he doesn't think it's necessary to finish the book in that amount of time.
tamtam402
Hey guys, I'm an electrical engineering student on my first year. I'm from Canada and I think our first year of University is the equivalent of 2nd year in the USA. I've taken calc I, II and III (multi-variable calculus, PDE's...), statistics and linear algebra. I've also learned some discrete mathematics in my EE courses, but nothing rigorous (it was mostly logic algebra).

I'm in a co-op program and I'll spend the whole summer in northern Quebec working in a zinc mine, and I'd like to use that opportunity to work on Spivak. I've learned that it's a great book to learn work through before tacking real analysis, which is something that seems daunting and fascinating to me.

Assuming I can put 3 hours a day in the book during the week and about 10 hours total during the weekends, can I expect to finish Spivak in 16 weeks? (that's about 25 hours working on the book a week, for the lazy :P)

Also, do I have the required mathematical baggage to tackle Spivak? If not, what book(s) do you guys recommend? I've never learned much about mathematical proofs at school so that might be a problem (I've never even seen stuff like induction).

Physics news on Phys.org
First, I'd like to ask why you want to study Spivak. If you think it will help you as an electrical engineer, then I can assure you that it will probably not so much. The calculus courses you take are likely enough.
On the other hand, if you're interested in rigorous math, then Spivak is a wonderful interesting book. It won't help you much, but it's very enjoyable.